“Our Team Brings T20 World Cup Home In Style”: PM Congratulates Team India

India brought an ICC trophy home after 11 years and India’s first World Cup win since 2011.

New Delhi:

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated the Indian Cricket Team for bringing the ICC T20 World Cup “home in style”. India beat South Africa in the final by 7 runs and Rohit Sharma and company brought an ICC trophy home after 11 years and India’s first World Cup win since 2011.

“Champions! Our team brings the T20 World Cup home in style! We are proud of the Indian Cricket Team,” Prime Minister Modi posted on X.

In a video message congratulating the team, PM Modi said the team won the World Cup and also the “hearts of crores of Indians”. No small achievement that they did not lose a single match, he said.

“Congratulations to India for this magnificent win. Today, 140 crore countrymen are proud of your fantastic performance. You won the World Cup and also the hearts of crores of Indians. You didn’t lose even one match; that’s not a small feat. You have achieved a spectacular victory. I congratulate you,” the prime minister said in Hindi.

President Droupadi Murmu also congratulated the Indian team and commended their “never-say-die” spirit. “My heartiest congratulations to Team India for winning the T20 World Cup. With the never-say-die spirit, the team sailed through difficult situations and demonstrated outstanding skills throughout the tournament. It was an extraordinary victory in the final match. Well done, Team India! We are proud of you!,” she said in a post on X.

Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha and Congress MP Rahul Gandhi praised team captain Rohit Sharma’s leadership. “Congratulations to Team India on a spectacular World Cup Victory and a phenomenal performance throughout the tournament! Surya, what a brilliant catch! Rohit, this win is a testament to your leadership. Rahul, I know team India will miss your guidance. The spectacular Men in Blue have made our country proud,” he said.

External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar also shared a message congratulating the team. “What a match! What a catch!”, India ended its 11-year-long ICC trophy drought, winning their first ICC title since the Champions Trophy in 2013. Congratulations Team India. What a match! What a catch!,” he posted on X.

Congress chief Mallikarjun Kharge and leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra also shared messages congratulating the Men In Blue.

It was team India’s second T20 World Cup victory after they had won it in 2007 under the legendary MS Dhoni in South Africa, and first since winning the Champions Trophy in 2013. 

Source link